Music: "Easy Lemon” by Kevin Macleod.

Our joint partnership between the Department of English and the School of Education means that students can take advantage of a broad range of faculty strengths and interests, from rhetorical theory and history to new media work to disability studies to composition pedagogy.

A particular strength of our program is the opportunity for students to gain expertise in conducting quantitative and qualitative research on writing in colleges and the schools. Our faculty are committed to working with you to craft an individualized program appropriate to your interests and needs. Feel free to contact any of us to discuss the program.

Image of Chandra L. Alston

Chandra L. Alston

Education Faculty

clalston@umich.edu

Writing studies, adolescent literacy, urban education…Read more


Image of Anne Curzan

Anne Curzan

Education and English Faculty

acurzan@umich.edu

History of English, language and gender, corpus linguistics, lexicography, pedagogy…Read more


Image of Barry J. Fishman

Barry J. Fishman

Education Faculty

fishman@umich.edu

Technology, video games as models for learning, teacher learning, design-based implementation research…Read more


Image of Anne R. Gere

Anne R. Gere

Program Chair | Education and English Faculty

argere@umich.edu

Composition theory, gender and literacy, writing assessment, pedagogy…Read more


Image of David Gold

David Gold

English Faculty

dpg@umich.edu

History of rhetoric, women’s rhetorics, composition pedagogy…Read more


Image of Scott Richard Lyons

Scott Richard Lyons

English Faculty

lyonssr@umich.edu

Native American and global indigenous studies, critical theory, rhetoric…Read more


Image of Elizabeth Birr Moje

Elizabeth Birr Moje

Education Faculty

moje@umich.edu

Adolescent and disciplinary literacy, literacy and cultural theory, research methods…Read more


Image of Alisse Portnoy

Alisse Portnoy

English Faculty

alisse@umich.edu

Rhetoric and composition; rhetorical activism and civil rights movements…Read more


Image of Mary J. Schleppegrell

Mary J. Schleppegrell

Education Faculty

mjschlep@umich.edu

Functional linguistics, second language learning, discourse analysis, language development…Read more


Image of Megan Sweeney

Megan Sweeney

meganls@umich.edu

African American literature and culture; ethnography; pedagogy; critical prison studies…Read more


Image of Thomas Toon

Thomas Toon

English Faculty

ttoon@umich.edu

Language variation and socio-historical linguistics (especially the influences of literacy on processes of language change); Read more…


Image of Melanie R. Yergeau

Melanie R. Yergeau

English Faculty

myergeau@umich.edu

Composition and rhetoric; digital media studies; disability studies; autistic culture…Read more